More Than Just a Mom

Homemade Pizza February 28, 2008

Filed under: cooking,pizza — Amy @ 9:49 am

I have been on a mission to start cooking from scratch using whole and organic ingredients.  I have a child with food allergies, so my mission is doubly important.  I have found that I enjoy cooking when it involves more than opening a box and adding water. 

To start my journey, I decided to pick from the dinners that we are use to eating and learn how to make them from scratch.  I decided to start with pizza first.  It took a few recipes and some practice to finally master it.  I am completely satisfied with the final results.  I even had a pizza party that involved the making of seven pizzas!  The pizza proved to be a huge hit, which is not usually an easy accomplishment with my usual food critics, those being my family.

I found the pizza dough recipe on Food Blogga.  I am excited to give more of her recipes a try.  I have not mastered a pizza sauce from scratch as of yet, so for now I am using Contandina brand pizza sauce.  We layer whatever toppings we are in the mood for, along with a pile of mozzerella cheese, and voila!  A great tasting pizza! 

IMG_0112.jpg picture by amymperry

I have asked for permission from the author of Food Blogga to list the recipe on this site, but until I get a response you will have to go through this link to get the recipe.  The entry happens to be a recipe for a particular kind of pizza, but the blog entry starts out with the recipe for basic pizza dough. 

I urge you to give it a try!  I think you will be pleasantly surprised about the ease in which it takes to make it and how wonderful it tastes.

 

2 Responses to “Homemade Pizza”

  1. Libby Says:

    Hi!

    Your pizza popped up on my “food allergies” google alert today. When I make pizza for my dairy (egg, peanut, etc.) allergic son, I spread some Tofutti Garlic and Herb Better than Cream Cheese on the crust before I put the sauce on. (No, I’m not a spammer! But I’ll certainly understand if you delete the comment anyway!) It gives it some creamy/cheesiness. I also spray the top with a little olive oil, so that the pizza gets some brownness on top without having actual cheese.

    Most food bloggers don’t mind if you reprint their recipes, as long as you link and give attribution, but getting actual permission is very gracious.

    I’ll be looking forward to more food allergy cooking adventures from you!

  2. morethanjustamom Says:

    Thank you for the tip! I may give that a try. I love the feed back! It is more fun writing when you have readers…lol! I am also happy to meet someone else who deals with food allergies, as it is sometimes a lonely world.

    Amy


Leave a Reply

